EC Super 14 Rugby Competition on track for 2022

By Maxwell Levine

The Eastern Cape Super 14 Rugby Competition, the premier club rugby tournament in the Province, is back with preparations well under way.

A new steering committee was formed  recently in Makanda. The steering committee consist of:

–          Tournament Director: David Dobela (BRU)

–          Chairperson: Freddie Makoki (BRU)

–          DSRAC Representative: Anga Ngcebetsha

–          Administrator: Linda Matoti

–          EP Representatives: Sinazo Maxamba and Phillip Josephs

–          BRU Representatives: Simphiwe Ntalantala and Asanda Simoyi

–          Marketing and Media Officer: Yolulwe Qoshe

–          EP Referees Association: Richard Jordaan

The Super 14 is held annually, with this year the only time that the competition did not take place due to the coronavirus

It is the flagship rugby tournament in the province with the Department of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture (DSRAC) the main stakeholders in partnership with the Eastern Cape Sport Confederation (ECSC), The Eastern Province Rugby Union and the Border Rugby Union.

It pits the cream of rugby talent in the Province against each other. Only the top 6 teams, which is determined by the log standings of each union’s top leagues, qualifies. The top 6 in the Border Super League goes head to head with the top 6 in the EP RFU Grand Challenge.

The steering committee decides who deserve the 7th participating club from each union, which enters the competition as a “Wild Card”.

No university sides are allowed to participate in the tournament.

The format for the tournament is that the 14 teams is divided into two groups of 7 teams with equal representation per union. The teams play in a round-robin format with the top 2 teams in each group going through to the semi-finals. The duration of the tourney is 9 weeks which culminate in the final.

There is huge prize money with teams also allocated transport for cross-union travelling. Each team also gets brand new kit, warm-up shirts and golf shirts for the tournament.

Both Unions have agreed to submit their respective list of teams in due course. It should be reminded that both EPRFU and BRU did not have any formal league fixtures in 2020 and 2021.

Share iNdaba Zabantu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »