Border Cricket in dire straits!

By Maxwell Levine

Border cricket is on the decline, and alarmingly so. The once proud Union is a shadow of the teams of yesteryear, where a host of superstars donned the colours of Border.

The latest was the disastrous CSA 3 Day Provincial match against KwaZulu-Natal in Paarl a fortnight ago, where Border was bowled out for just 16 runs.

KZN batted first and made 361, with Border replying with 166 all out. They were asked to follow on which led to a collapse of 16 all out in just 11.4 overs. Border lost the match by an innings and 179 runs.

There was a total of four ducks in the innings with Nonelala Yikha top scoring with only 7 runs. There were also only two boundaries in the innings. However, two batsmen did not bat and were thus recorded ‘absent hurt’.

It is the joint lowest innings score in the history of South African first-class cricket, equalling the 16 all out Border made against the same opposition in 1959.

It is a double blow for Border, as Cricket South Africa announced a new domestic system, which will feature two tiers consisting of eight and seven teams respectively. Border has missed out on selection to the premier division.

The new structure will accommodate 15 first-class teams, instead of known six-team franchise system. The teams will be split into two divisions with eight teams in Division 2 in a promotion-relegation format.

Division 1 will group Boland will group Boland, Eastern Province, Free State, Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal Coastal, North-West, Northerns, Western Province together, while the South Western Districts, Easterns, Kwa-Zulu Natal Inland, Border, Limpopo, Northern Cape, Mpumalanga will make up Division 2.

Share iNdaba Zabantu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »