By Irshaad Gangat

The Eastern Cape Development Corporation (ECDC) welcomed the new members of its Board of Directors, appointed from  February 22 to serve a three year term. The new Board is led by Mr Vuyani Jarana as the Chairperson assisted by Mr Simpiwe Somdyala who is returning as Deputy Chairperson.

Other returning members from the previous Board are Ms Nolitha Pietersen and Ms Thobile Buthelezi who represents the Shareholder on the Board from its Provincial Treasury wing. The constitution of the new Board also sees the return of Ms Boniswa Koneti who served a short period on the Interim Board which was appointed to oversee the corporation until such time that the new Board was put in place. Joining the Board Chairperson, as new members of the Board are; Ms Siyabuka Siko, Ms Pumeza Bono and Ms Tracy Cumming.

Welcoming the new Board of Directors, Chief Executive Officer Ndzondelelo Dlulane said, “The new Board of Directors brings an impressive and diverse range of expertise with a shared ethical value with stakeholders, shareholders and the ECDC employees.” The appointment of the eight members is in line with the provisions of Section 7(2) of the ECDC Act 2 of 1997, and will be able to fulfil the ECDC’s Board of Directors’ statutory mandate after an introductory meeting by the Shareholder, Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism’s Hon. MEC Mlungisi Mvoko.

Dlulane added, “The ECDC has talented teams in place, ready to seize the enormous opportunities for the Eastern Cape in the local to international markets. As the province recovers from the COVID-19 pandemic negative economic impact, the ECDC continues to look for investment opportunities and leading innovations that will bring aggressive economic growth for Eastern Cape.”

Share iNdaba Zabantu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »